top of page

truth.

Truth is something that's been on my mind for quite some time now, especially after going through a whirlwind of emotions religiously, but this is the first time that I've taken a moment to express my thoughts.

What is truth and how is truth created?

For my entire life I believed that truth came from listening to those you trust; your parents, leaders, grandparents, teachers, etc... It seems like the stronger your relationship is with someone, the more you trust them in what they say, with their wisdom. See, this is what I've been doing my entire life, and this is how conversation is started every day. Example: Someone tells you something that they heard or read on the internet and depending on the amount of trust and the type of relationship you have with that person that information could now be seen as the truth when in reality it may be completely false. Unfortunately, I feel like this is how we build our foundation of life. I'll be the first to admit that most times I'm simply too lazy to validate what people tell me so I take the easy way out in believing what they say to be true without giving much thought into researching that topic. If you think about it, many "truths" were created by someone who expressed an opinion and a large body of people accepted that opinion which in turn carried out that information for decades and became a truth for future generations. That's a little thought to take in.

Why does this matter?

If you know me you know how much I value my relationships and connections with those who are close to me. Unfortunately, I've noticed with family and friends the type of judgement, close mindedness, and lack of respect when others have expressed thought out, researched, and pure heartfelt opinion that has contradicted what they believe to be true. When you become so invested in something that is true to you to a point where you can't love someone the way you used to or look at them the same way simply because they believe differently than you do is one of the most heartbreaking realities that we face today. I've witnessed complete disconnection from parents and children, siblings, life long friends, and co-workers based on the fact that one person believes one thing and the other doesn't. Is it too difficult to respect each other's opinion or "agree to disagree?" Well, it seems to be easy when it comes to things such as food. I love dill pickles but you know what, I understand that MANY people can't stand them so what's different when it comes to politicians, religion, habits, or life decisions? If you don't agree with someone's belief or decision to do something why does that need to affect the decisions that you're making or the way you feel about them? You're not that person, nor do their decisions need to impact your life so much. I understand that we care about others and that there's a certain want or desire when you're experiencing happiness that you'd like others to experience that as well, but the bottom line is, is that there's not 8 billion Spencer Cooks in the world, we are ALL different and you can't expect people to live the way you live or feel the way you feel or believe the way you believe. Isn't it much easier to love the person you've grown so close to for who they are instead of judging them for the opinions they have or actions that they take in their own lives? Maybe not, but it should be. Open mindedness, love, compassion, empathy, and connection are traits that build not only a happy life, but a free life, and that's what I'm striving for. I've made a lot of mistakes with misjudging people and becoming so emotional because of decisions and actions that others make but over time I've come to understand that the only actions and decisions that can truly affect the person I am are those that I take and make for myself. I hope that everyone can find one thing that others do that they may feel closed off about and exercise being open about that thing whether it's habits, religious beliefs, political directions, thoughts on alcohol, drugs, attraction to same sex, etc... Being open doesn't mean that you have to change, it simply allows you to be someone who can be there for others when they'll need you most.

SC

bottom of page